Reading List 1

Ive loved reading ever since I can remember. It wasnt until the last 5 or so years that I realised I was aching to read books that had diverse characters. Characters that were like me and faced similar struggles that I did. And I love that I also discovered books I didnt realise I needed or wanted to read about. That is the beauty about reading books about so many different people- you get to see a glimpse into their world just a little bit… to empathise… to know that I am not the only kind of person out here and that my struggle is not the only struggle… but also, at the end of the day… to see them as people too.

Which is why having diverse books are important so that we can share, uplift but most importantly listen to, the voices and stories that would not normally be heard. To hear and read about the stories of people of colour, people with disabilities and the LGBTQ communities.

I will always remember a Tumblr post I saw a long while ago:

representation

 

So I will start my list of Books that tell the stories of… well, everyone else lol

1. Scar Of The Bamboo Leaf by Sieni A.M

18336495.jpg

2. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okafor

7507944.jpg

3. Half Resurrection Blues (Bone Street Rumba #1) by Daniel Jose Older

22393174.jpg

4. Ash by Malinda Lo

Ash.jpg

5. Dear Martin by Nic Stone

24974996.jpg

Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

